Home News Hasan Ali recalled as Pakistan announce Test squad

Hasan Ali recalled as Pakistan announce Test squad

Shan Masood, Haris Sohail and Mohammad Abbas have been left out as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday (January 15) announced Test squad for the series against South Africa.

The two-match home Test series against the Proteas will kick off in Karachi on January 26. The second Test will be held in Rawalpindi from February 4. The two teams will also play three T20 internationals.

Also Read – Video: Gabba crowd abuse Siraj as ‘Bloody Grub’

Young pacer Naseem Shah, opener Imamul Haq and leg-spinner Shadab Khan were also not considered for selection due to injury, while spinner Nauman Ali and Pacer Hasan Ali have been included in the 20-man squad announced by Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim.

Once the No.1-ranked ODI bowler in the world, Ali had remained on the sidelines due to recurring back injuries for more than a year. Recently he had a very successful stint the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and became the player of the tournament.

Babar Azam is now full fit and the star batsman will take over the Test captaincy from Mohammad Rizwan. It will be his first time to take charge of the red-ball side.

Meanwhile this happens to be the first team selection by Mohammad Wasim who took charge of this difficult post in November after Misbah-ul-Haq’s role was restricted as head coach of the Pakistan cricket team.

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Abdullah Shafique, Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid, Khan, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Tabish Khan.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));