Home Green Sports & Opn Sports Sri Lanka Squad, Players List for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Sri Lanka Squad, Players List for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Sri Lanka squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 has been announced by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2022 Team, Squad, Players List: Check full list here.

On Friday, September 16, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced a 15-member squad of the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team for the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which is set to be held in Australia.

Sri Lanka have named Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara in the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, but their participation will be subject to their fitness ahead of the tournament.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando are named as players on standby and only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the squad to Australia.

Dinesh Chandimal, the veteran middle-order batter, who made a return to the T20I squad in the Asia Cup, only finds a place in the list of standby players.

The impressive left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka retains his place in the squad after a great outing in the UAE. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay retain their places after coming in for the Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2022:

1 Dasun Shanaka (Captain) All Rounder
2 Pathum Nissanka Batsman
3 Kusal Mendis Wicket Keeper
4 Danushka Gunathilaka Batsman
5 Dushmantha Chameera Bowler
6 Charith Asalanka All Rounder
7 Bhanuka Rajapaksa Batsman
8 Dhananjaya de Silva All Rounder
9 Wanindu Hasaranga All Rounder
10 Maheesh Theekshana Bowler
11 Jeffrey Vandersay Bowler
12 Lahiru Kumara Bowler
13 Chamika Karunaratne Bowler
14 Dilshan Madushanka Bowler
15 Pramod Madushan Bowler

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando

Sri Lanka Team Schedule 2022:

Date Teams Match# Time Venue
16th Oct 2022 Sri Lanka vs Namibia 1st 09:30 IST | 04:00 GMT | 15:00 Local Simonds Stadium, Geelong
18th Oct 2022 Sri Lanka vs UAE 6th 13:00 IST | 08:00 GMT | 19:00 Local Simonds Stadium, Geelong
20th Oct 2022 Sri Lanka vs Qualifier3 9th 09:30 IST | 04:00 GMT | 15:00 Local Simonds Stadium, Geelong

T20 WC 2022 Teams:

Total 16 teams are participating in ICC T20 World Cup 2022. All teams are divided into two parts. In the first part, Group A & Group B matches will be played in the β€œFirst Round”. In the second part, the final four teams from first round will play in β€œSuper 12” will join already the top 8 ranked T20 teams. 12 teams includes in Super 12 round will be divided into two groups. Each group will consist of 6 teams. After Super 12, the play-off season will start in which three matches will be played – two semi-finals and the final. Details of all teams are listed below.

First Round Play Teams:

  • Group A: Sri Lanka, Namibia, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands
  • Group B: West Indies, Ireland, Scotland, Zimbabwe

Super 12 Play Teams:

  • Group 1: Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Group A Winner, Group B Runner-up
  • Group 2: Pakistan, India, South Africa, Bangladesh, Group B Winner, Group A Runner-up

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Full Schedule:

You can see the complete schedule of ICC T20 WC 2022 on the link given below.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Complete Schedule