Home News 10 teams will be split into 2 groups from IPL 2021 season

10 teams will be split into 2 groups from IPL 2021 season

The Indian Premier League is the most-watched domestic T20 tournament across the globe. The cash-rich league which boasts plethora of star cricketers in the team has by far lived up to its expectations. So far, thirteen seasons have been done and dusted. Mumbai Indians are the most successful side in the history of Indian Premier League as they won 5 titles.

IPL trophy

Chennai Super Kings come next on the list with three titles whereas Kolkata Knight Riders won two titles. Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition of the league whereas the now-defunct Deccan Chargers won once, Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise also won the title once. Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers are the three franchises who are yet to win the title.

While there is a stiff competition among the eight teams in the tournament, the BCCI is planning to make the league much more competitive by adding two more teams in the forthcoming season of the IPL. The tournament is months away from going all guns blazing. The approval for the same will reportedly be granted in the next BCCI Annual General Meeting which will take place on December 24.

Also Read – The three Alis guide Dhaka to second win

Interestingly, this is not the first time that the IPL will have as many as 10 teams battling it out for the coveted trophy. In 2011 season, as many as 10 teams took part in the competition. In the following season, 9 teams took part in the league. Now with BCCI likely to approve two new teams, there will be a total of 10 teams in the competition.

Format for IPL 2021

Earlier, it was reported that the fourteenth edition of the IPL will see 9 teams in action. The report stated that Ahmedabad team is likely to join as the ninth team. Now, in the latest development, it was learnt that 10 teams will be in action for the next season.

Talking about the format for the next season, since two teams will be added in the tournament, a total of 18 games will be played in the group stage. Teams that make it to the top four will make it to the playoffs.

As per Times of India, there will be a slight change in the format in upcoming IPL. Meanwhile, the league organisers are considering to revert to the one used back in 2011 season. Talking about the fourth edition of the IPL, 10 teams will be split into two groups of five with all the teams playing 14 games only in the league stages – facing the other four franchises in their group twice (home and away fixture), facing four teams in group once and then the remaining team twice. Though the format seemed a bit more complicated, it saved a lot of time for the BCCI back then.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));