Home News Barishal qualify for playoffs as Dhaka lose despite Naim’s century

Barishal qualify for playoffs as Dhaka lose despite Naim’s century

Fortune Barishal have secured the play-off by defeating Beximco Dhaka by 2 runs in the last match of league stage of Bangabandhu T20 Cup tournament. For this, Minister Group Rajshahi have been eliminated from the play-off stage.

Losing the toss, Barishal posted a huge total of 193 runs with the loss of 3 wickets in 20 overs. Saif Hassan, Afif Hossain and Towhid Hridoy scored half-centuries. Hridoy picked up the fastest fifty in the tournament with 22 balls.

Also Read – Gavaskar names ideal batting position for Rahane after Kohli goes away

Al-Amin Jr., Muktar Ali and Rubel Hossain took 1 wicket each for Dhaka.

Chasing the target, Dhaka fell in danger as they lost their 3 crucial batsmen (Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim and Al-Amin Jr.) inside just 63 runs. But at one side, another opener Naim Sheikh fought alone. Yasir Ali gave him proper support in fourth wicket. They made 110-run partnership. Naim picked up tournament’s third century. He scored 105 runs off 64 balls.

But after Naim’s departure, Dhaka couldn’t do much and lost the match by 2 runs. Suhrawadi Shuvo took 3 wickets while Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Sumon Khan took 1 wicket each.

Naim was adjusted man of the match despite his team’s loss because of his marvelous hundred.

Brief score:

Toss: Beximco Dhaka, opted to bowl first

Fortune Barishal: 193/3 (20 overs)

Hridoy 51*, Afif 50*, Saif 50

Al-Amin Jr. 5/1, Rubel 28/1, Muktar 48/1

Beximco Dhaka: 191/6 (20 overs)

Naim 105, Yasir 41, Sabbir 19

Shuvo 13/3, Sumon 44/1, Rabbi 41/1

Result: Fortune Barishal won by 2 runs.

Man of the match: Mohammad Naim

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));