Home News BCCI announces cash reward for Team India

BCCI announces cash reward for Team India

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has congratulated Team India and also announced cash reward following their historic win at The Gabba to register a 2-1 Test series win in Australia.

In what could be termed as an instant classic, the series started with India getting all-out for just 36 runs in Adelaide, only to make a strong comeback in Melbourne, earning a hard-fought draw in Sydney, and eventually breach Fortress Gabba after 32 years.

Also Read – Five former cricketers who got fitting replies with India’s Test series win

On their way to retaining the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, India lost as many as 9 of their regular Test team members but still showed the character and the never-give-up attitude of the side.

The Indian board is proud of Team India’s such magnificent feat Down Under, and has announced a cash reward of INR 5 crore for the team.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly congratulated India’s stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane and coach Ravi Shastri, as he told BCCI’s official website: “We are extremely proud of the series win. Beating Australia in Australia by a young team will remain etched in the history of Indian cricket forever. It cannot get better than this. I am so proud of everyone. Congratulations to Ajinkya Rahane and Ravi Shastri and the rest of the touring party for this remarkable feat.”

Earlier Ganguly had also made the announcement of the cash reward on his Twitter handle. “Just a remarkable win…To go to Australia and win a test series in this way ..will be remembered in the history of indian cricket forever ..Bcci announces a 5 cr bonus for the team ..The value of this win is beyond any number ..well done to every member of the touring party..,” he tweeted.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));