Home News Bowlers, Myburgh set up Netherlands’ series win

Bowlers, Myburgh set up Netherlands’ series win

Netherlands have beaten Ireland by four wickets in the third and final ODI at Utrecht to clinch series 2-1.

This is the first time Netherlands have beaten a Full Member team in an ODI series of three or more. They had previously shocked Bangladesh in an one-off ODI in 2010 and Zimbabwe by 2-0 in 2019.

Also Read – Mushfiqur to skip Zimbabwe T20Is

Ireland chose to bat first in the series decider, leaving veteran William Porterfield out for Kevin O’Brien. O’Brien’s stay lasted only for a four-ball duck as Fred Klaassen gave home side a flying start with two early scalps, with in-form Paul Stirling out.

From 28/3 in the first powerplay, Harry Tector and George Dockrell revived Ireland with an 89-run partnership. Tector scored his maiden ODI fifty – 58 in exactly 100 balls. Dockrell made 40 off 69 before Logan van Beek returned with quick wickets to rattle Ireland for 163 in 49.2 overs.

Simi Singh remained on unbeaten 21 runs in a collapse that saw Ireland losing last 7 wickets for 46 runs.

Klaassen and van Beek both bagged three wickets each. Timm van der Gugten took two for 22 in nine overs.

Dutch openers Stephan Myburgh and Max O’Dowd took full advantage of sloppy Ireland. The 66-run stamd set the tone for the hosts although the middle-order didn’t support enough.

O’Dowd was sent back for 49-ball 36 while Myburgh raised his third ODI fifty to put end to a lean run with the bat. Myburgh hit 6 fours and 3 maximums in his 74 runs from 111 deliveries to script a four-wicket win.

Netherlands had moments of hiccups, losing three quick wickets just when they were inching closer towards the target. The target was eventually reached with 25 balls remaining.

Simi was the pick of the Ireland bowlers for his 3/29 in 9.5 overs.

Netherlands (9th) already have 20 points from three World Cup Super League matches. Ireland (10th) have the same number of points but from nine games. With South Africa and Zimbabwe to arrive at their den this year, Ireland have a daunting task ahead to boost up their position.

Brief scores:

Ireland 163 in 49.2 overs (Tector 58, Dockrell 40; Klaassen 3/23, van Beek 3/29)

Netherlands 166/6 in 45.5 overs (Myburgh 74, O’Dowd 36; Simi 3/29, McBrine 1/25)

Netherlands won by 4 wickets

Player of the Match: Stephan Myburgh

Player of the Series: Logan van Beek

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));