Home News Gazi Group Cricketers collapse to 108 all-out

Gazi Group Cricketers collapse to 108 all-out

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club have trumped Gazi Group Cricketers by 36 runs in a low-scoring affair match in the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL) T20 at Mirpur.

Prime Doleshwar bowlers have combined to bowl Gazi Group Cricketers for the lowest total in this year’s tournament – 108.

Also Read – Abahani-Mohammedan ‘Dhaka Derby’ on June 11

Spinners spun the web in defending 145. Gazi Group Cricketers lost Shahadat Hossain Dipu (13), Soumya Sarkar (9) and skipper Mahmudullah Riyad (0) in the powerplay. Mominul Haque fell immediately after the powerplay, making 7 runs. Half the side were back in the hut in 8.5 overs, with another wicket falling before the end of 10 overs.

Off-spinners Shamim Hossain and Sharifullah made early inroads in the run chase. Left-arm spinner Enamul Haque Jnr later joined the party.

The spin trouble left Gazi Group Cricketers at 66/8 at one stage, being threatened to end below 100 runs. But Ariful Haque (37 off 34) did as much as he could to minimise margin of defeat. He was dismissed in the penultimate over.

Gazi Group Cricketers slumped to 108 all-out in 18.5 overs and faced their second defeat in three matches.

Earlier, Prime Doleshwar were powered to 144/6 by middle-order batting. Openers Imran Uzzaman (10) and Towfiq Khan (15) left early before Saif Hassan and Fazle Mahmud Rabbi cashed in for a 65-run stand.

Saif played a run-a-ball innings of 37 runs, hitting only two boundaries. Fazle had a higher strike rate – 39 off 31. Both batters were sent back by Mahmudullah, who took 2/29.

Shamim came in as a finisher and struck three boundaries in his 18-ball 25.

Nasum Ahmed had the opening two wickets but was not given the ball after his two overs. Mukidul Islam Mugdho took two in the last over.

Prime Doleshwar are now on top of the table with five points from three matches.

Brief scores:

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club 144/6 in 20 overs (Fazle 39, Saif 37; Nasum 2/11, Mugdho 2/23, Mahmudullah 2/29)

Gazi Group Cricketers 108/10 in 18.5 overs (Ariful 37; Enamul 2/10, Shamim 2/17, Sharifullah 2/21)

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club won by 36 runs

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));