Home News India cruise to a thrilling win in dead rubber

India cruise to a thrilling win in dead rubber

India finally off to the mark in their long tour to Australia by beating the hosts by 13 runs in the third ODI at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

The third and final ODI is being played at Manuka Oval, Canberra. Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first. After electing to bat first, India off to a start that they would have wanted as the opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan returned to the pavilion in the 6th over.

Also Read – Dhaka claim first win in low-scorer

Following that the skipper Virat Kohli joined with the other opener Shubman Gill and built a partnership. Unfortunately, Shubman Gill was unable to convert the good start he got and gone for 33 runs. Middle-order batsmen Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul also returned back to the pavilion with fewer contributions.

On the other hand, the skipper crossed his half-century and lost his wicket when he was on 63 and India were 152/5 at that stage. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja built a match-winning partnership, adding an unbeaten 150 runs for the second wicket. In the end, India scored 302 with Pandya and Jadeja scoring 92 and 66 respectively. For Australia, Ashton Agar picked up 2 wickets.

With a target of 303, Australia opened the innings with Aaron Finch and Marnus Labuschagne. Unfortunately, Labuschagne was unable to shine with the new role as the Indian debutant Natarajan rattled him up for just 7 runs. The big Steve Smith also sent back to the pavilion by Shardul Thakur for the same runs.

Slowly Indian bowlers took control of the game and picked up wickets regularly. On one side, the Australian skipper played a fighting inning of 75. For the sixth wicket, Alex Carey and Glenn Maxwell had a half-century partnership and was taking Australia back on track.

Unfortunately, a mixup between the batsmen costed the wicket of the Australian wicket-keeper. On the other side, Maxwell continued to strike the Indian bowlers before outsmarted by Jasprit Bumrah. Since then India took the control of the game and in the end won the game by 13 runs. Shardul Thakur picked up three wickets while Bumrah and Natarajan scalped two each.

Match Summary:

India: 302/5 (Hardik Pandya 92*, Ravindra Jadeja 66*, Ashton Agar 2/44)
Australia: 289/10 (Aaron Finch 75, Glenn Maxwell 59, Shardul Thakur 3/51)

Result: India won by 13 runs

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));