Home News List of players likely to miss second leg of IPL 2021

List of players likely to miss second leg of IPL 2021

A bunch of players are expected to be unavailable for the second leg of the IPL 2021, which is planned to be played in the United Arab Emirates.

BCCI is working with all their efforts to complete the remaining games of the IPL 2021, which was suspended after the sudden rise of COVID-19 cases in India. Earlier BCCI officially confirmed that the remainder of the tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates.

Also Read – Conway storms into Test batting rankings

Meanwhile, the reports from BCCI claims that the season will resume on September 19th. As per the final talks with Emirates Cricket Board, BCCI has managed to get a 25-day window to host the remaining games. According to this, the final will be played on October 15th.

However, there is a big challenge is in getting back the overseas players from different boards. With the hectic international fixtures and ICC T20 World Cup, major boards like England Cricket Board are not ready to allow their players to participate in the second leg.

Along with England Cricket Board, Bangladesh Cricket Board also confirmed that their players won’t be available for the second leg. Shakib Al Hassan and Mustafizur Rahman are part of the Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals respectively. Due to the international schedules during that time, the players will be unavailable.

On the other hand, the participation of Australian players is also doubtful. Similar to the case of England and Bangladesh, the international fixtures will restrict the participation of Australian players. Earlier Pat Cummins confirmed that he won’t take part in the league. The Caribbean players who are part of the Caribbean Premier League will be also in a similar situation.

Here is the list of players who are likely to skip the remainder of IPL 2021:

Chennai Super Kings:
Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Behrendorff, Moeen Ali, Mitchell Santner

Delhi Capitals:
Steve Smith, Shimron Hetmyer, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Marcus Stoinis

Royal Challengers Bangalore:
Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Adam Zampa

Mumbai Indians:
Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Kieron Pollard

Rajasthan Royals:
Liam Livingstone, Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Andrew Tye, Mustafizur Rahman

Punjab Kings:
Dawid Malan, Moises Henriques, Riley Meredith, Jhye Richardson, Chris Gayle, Chris Jordan

Shakib Al-Hasan, Eoin Morgan, Ben Cutting, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Jason Holder, David Warner

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));