Home News New Zealand bowl again, Saifuddin returns

New Zealand bowl again, Saifuddin returns

New Zealand have elected to bowl first in the second ODI against Bangladesh at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

The ground is hosting its first men’s day-night ODI. New Zealand have a great record here, winning nine of ten ODIs with the lastest being against Bangladesh back in 2019.

Also Read – RCB will be a lot stronger by having Kohli at the top: Vaughan

New Zealand are leading the series 1-0, inspired by their bowling efforts that kept Bangladesh down to 131 all-out to allow their batsmen go all guns to chase down inside 22 overs.

The hosts have gone wirh the same playing XI they fielded in Dunedin. Experienced Ross Taylor was ruled out of the game as he is still recovering from a hamstring tear.

Bangladesh have a forced change to their XI. Pace bowling all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin returns to the side in place of Hasan Mahmud, who has sustained an injury.

This means the bowling attack has three pacers including Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman, and the two spinners – Mahedi Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Playing XIs-    

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Devon Conway, Will Young, Tom Latham (captain & wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));