Home Green Sports & Opn Sports Purple Cap winner prize money in IPL 2022

Purple Cap winner prize money in IPL 2022

IPL Purple Cap 2022: Both seamers and spinners contributed equally to the total wickets column in IPL 2022. Check Purple Cap winner prize money

The present 15th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen an excellent performance, particularly by rookie clubs Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). On the other side, the combined nine-time IPL winners, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI), are on the edge of elimination following a poor start.

The bowlers have come in useful for their respective organizations as the season enters its 30th match and is currently being played on used pitches.

Furthermore, with the red dirt grounds certain to degrade even further as additional matches (across three venues in Mumbai) are scheduled to be played on them, anticipate spinners (in particular) to continue to dominate the league in the remaining stages.

So far, though, both pacers and seamers have taken full advantage of the conditions on offer, and have had about equal influence on the wicket-takers table.

This is the IPL Purple Cap for 2022 (wickets updated after every match).

Making the most of the pace and bounce on offer on the new wickets, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bowler Umesh Yadav wore the Purple Cap – for the greatest wicket-taker – for quite some time throughout the season’s first few matches.

However, with the red and black dirt grounds remaining true to their nature, spinners have significantly risen up the list, with five leg-spinners in the top-5 following the conclusion of the 29th match between Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans.

Yuzvendra Chahal, the Rajasthan Royals’ prized property this season, is now wearing the Purple Cap, having taken 12 wickets in 5 innings.

He is tied with SRH left-arm fast bowler T. Natarajan, who has taken the same amount of wickets in the same number of innings.

With 11 wickets apiece, Kuldeep Yadav (DC), Avesh Khan (LSG), and Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) come next on the list.

Player Matches Wickets Average Economy rate
Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 6 17 10.35 7.33
T Natarajan (SRH) 6 12 17.33 8.66
Kuldeep Yadav (KKR) 5 11 14.72 8.23
Avesh Khan (LSG) 6 11 17.09 8.29
Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) 6 11 17.72 8.47

Purple Cap winner prize money in IPL 2022

According to reports, the winner and runners-up of the IPL for 2022 would receive a hefty sum of INR 20 Crore and INR 13 Crore respectively. Franchises finishing in third and fourth place would receive INR 7 Crore and INR 6.5 Crore respectively.