Home News Sangakkara, Flower inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Sangakkara, Flower inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Former cricketers Kumar Sangakkara and Andy Flower earned their places in the ICC Hall of Fame, along with eight cricketers from different eras.

ICC is gearing up to host the final of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship. The final will be played between India and New Zealand at Southampton. Ahead of the mega event, ICC inducted 10 more greatest cricketers into the ICC Hall of Fame. The honours are expected to be made during the final at Southampton.

Also Read – Faf du Plessis tweets for first time after nasty collision

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and Zimbabwe’s Andy Flower earned their honours in the announcement from ICC. Kumar Sangakkara becomes the second Sri Lankan player to get the honour after the legendary off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan. Andy Flower becomes the first cricketer from Zimbabwe to receive this honour.

Along with the two cricketers, eight cricketers from four different eras were honoured. South Africa’s Aubrey Faulkner and Australia’s Monty Noble are named from the early cricket era before 1918. Sir Learie Constantine and Australia’s Stan McCabe were selected from the Inter-war era.

From the post-war era (1946-1970), India’s Vinoo Mankad and England’s Ted Dexter were inducted into the Hall of Fame. West Indies’ Desmond Haynes and England’s Bob Willis were picked from the ODI era. With the new inclusions, the ICC Hall of Fame now includes 103 greats of the game.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));