Home News Will Pucovski doubtful for Brisbane Test

Will Pucovski doubtful for Brisbane Test

Australia opener Will Pucovski is doubtful for the fourth and final Test against India in Brisbane, confirmed Cricket Australia (CA) on Tuesday.

This is because Pucovski suffered a shoulder subluxation injury during the third Test in Sydney.

Also Read – Taskin gets three stitches, under 72-hour observation

“Australian opener Will Pucovski suffered a shoulder subluxation injury while diving in the field on day five of the third Test at the SCG yesterday. He will continue rest and rehabilitation over the next two days before a decision is made on his fitness for the fourth Test match,” CA said in an official release.

In what was his Test debut, the opener had quite an impressive outing with the bat, as he made scores of 64 in the first innings, followed by 10 in the second.

Despite the uncertainty surrounding the participation of Pucovski in the final match, no additional players have been brought into the squad.

If case Pucovski is unable to recover from the injury, Australia could use their fifth opening batsman in as many matches in the form of Marcus Harris, after Matthew Wade, Joe Burns, David Warner and Sydney debutant Pucovski.

David Warner is another doubt for Australia at the moment, as he did not look quite comfortable in the middle in his return from a groin injury at the SCG.

The fourth and final Test between India and Australia, which has now become a series-deciding one, will roll onto the ground from Friday (January 15).

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Thangarasu Natarajan

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));